top of page

Candidates for 2023 elections announced

Updated: Mar 29, 2023

We would like to thank all of you for your participation in the nomination process. It was successful only because of your efforts. We are grateful.

Some statistics:

  • A total of 44 people sent nominations, which is 30% of the total eligible members (147)

  • There was an average of 27 names submitted for each post, with PRO receiving the highest (32) and Chairperson (22) receiving the fewest.

  • Despite the high number of names submitted, only 10 people eventually accepted nominations across the board which will indicate that consent was not sought before submissions were made.

The process

As a reminder of the screening process, candidates:

  • must be a registered and financially committed member

  • mainly resident in the UK for the duration of the next tenure

  • must not be a member of the electoral committee

  • secure two or more nominations

Your candidates

Those who made the shortlist have since been contacted and we are pleased to announce the names of candidates for the upcoming election:


  • Ataguba, Rowland

  • Odiba, Enefola

General Secretary:

  • Abalaka, Grace Afor

Financial Secretary:

  • Wuyep, Elizabeth Olive


  • Omatokole-Watt, Angela


  • Makoji-Ademu, Sylvia

Assistant General Secretary:

  • Edebo, Ikani Andrew

Activity & Youth Coordinator:

  • Okai, Agi

*Update 25th March: Candidate Isaac Adebayo Ameh withdrew from the race.

** Update 29th March: Candidate James Attah withdrew from the race.

Positions that have only one candidate will run unopposed and be declared winners on the day of the election.

Want to learn more about them and their vision for Igala UK? You can download their profiles using the document attached below

IUK Elections 23 Candidate profiles v3
Download PDF • 1.30MB

What next?

The elections will begin at midday on Friday 31st and end during the AGM meeting on Saturday 1st of April. Every eligible member will receive a link and a unique code from, just as you did for nominations. The winners will be announced by the EC chairman, Amb. Friday Okai, shortly after the voting concludes. In the meantime, candidates have a week to “campaign” to members and share their plans for our great association.

We look forward to increased participation in the coming event. God bless you all.

Megba chakaa

Igala UK Electoral Committee

305 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Inabali ane Igala vol 12 iss 1

INABALI ANE IGALA is Back! After a spell of quietude, your favourite newsletter returns with this SPECIAL EDITION. Our cover story is the sad demise of our Patron. Arc. Chief Gabriel Yakubu Aduku OON

Newsletter. Inabali ane Igala vol. 11 iss 1

Latest edition covers Nigeria Decides 2023, our bumper coverage of elections particularly in ane Igala King Charles III honours Enyo Opaluwa-Pinheiro with British Empire Medal K'Igala language classes


bottom of page